Bacon Biscotti

You see? In this pic Sophie's outside...I think she stay that way. I don't want to deal with her stealing my cookies!

Sometimes I get so sick of Sophie…she can be such a bully! Just yesterday she tried trampling me again, but I refuse to leave the kitchen when mom’s cooking. Though she used to ‘accidentally’ drop shredded cheese on the floor (which was awesome), the treats that she’s been making recently more than make up for those empty calories. Tasty, yummy stuff.

Anyway, I don’t know what got into her head, but for some reason mom decided to make treats specifically for Sophie…you know, the hard ones that are way too big for my little mouth. Fortunately, I got the tiny pieces when any of these cookies fell apart. They’re called ‘biscotti’ but, personally, I’m more interested in the bacon chunks found inside.

This is the recipe: Bacon Biscotti

Ingredients: 6 slices of bacon / 3 C of whole wheat flour / 1 C oats / 1 t baking powder / half C water / 2 large eggs / quarter C bacon drippings or olive oil / 2 T honey

Directions: Cook bacon until crisp; remove with a slotted spoon and set aside (reserve drippings). Combine flour, oats, baking powder. In a separate bowl combine water, egg, drippings/oil, and honey. Add wet to dry ingredients along with the bacon. Shape dough into log about 10″ long. Place on ungreased baking sheet and flatten until it’s about 6″ wide.

Bacon Biscotti

Next, cook for 30 minutes at 350F; reduce oven temperature to 250F. Cool log and cut in diagonal into half ” slices. Turn each on side and put them back into the oven for 30 minutes. Mom wanted hers extra crunchy so, after she turned off the oven, she left them there overnight. The smell of bacon was driving me crazy!! I had to bury myself in blankets to stop my mouth from watering like that crazy st.bernard.

As it turns out, Sophie didn’t like these as much as mom had hoped…she still prefers to eat my smaller, softer treats. What’s up with that? She picks up Gryphon in her mouth but she’ll only suck on a piece of biscotti?

I, on the other hand, love the cookies. We don’t usually get a lot of really crunchy treats unless they’re bought from the store (blah), so it was nice to get the change in texture. I just run off with mine and stretch out in my bed to get the main part of the chomping done.

Oh, and the picture shows a full piece…I have yet to convince my mom to give me the whole thing. “Soon, my precious…”. That’s what I say.

About Scarlett

I figured I'd check this whole blog thing out...my two-legged mom's been obsessed with hers for awhile. So here's my story from 10 inches off the ground; I am, after all, just a chiweenie!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment